The Vice President for Information Technology was asked to establish an IT Advisory Committee to consider recommendations for the efficient utilization of the University’s computer facilities and to recommend activities that relate to the operation, maintenance, and development of the University’s communications network. The committee’s scope would include all instructional, research, extension, and administrative computing provided through the University’s computing facilities, and all existing or proposed devices connected to the computing facilities. 

After reviewing the key areas of concern within the IT organization, it was decided to establish some sub-committees that could work independently on bring recommendations back to specific areas within IT and to the IT Advisory Committee. The Security & Identity Subcommittee was formed for this purpose.


To provide advice and counsel that assists in guiding, supporting and communicating information technology security and identity management strategic aims at Virginia Tech.

Membership Participation

Members will serve for two years with the possibility of reappointment and with staggered, rotating appointments that allow for continuity of operations and historical perspective.

Members will meet approximately once each semester to discuss challenges and directions related to IT Security Advisory Committees.

A report should be submitted to the IT Security Office, SETI, and the office of the VP for Information Technology annually.




Randy Marchany University IT Security Officer IT Security Office
Mary Dunker Director, Secure Enterprise Technology Initiatives Secure Enterprise Technology Initiatives
Amy Tunison Risk and Security Analyst
IT Security Office
Dominik Borkowski Senior Systems Administrator VBI - Core Computational Facilities
Malcolm Beckett Interim Director IT for Administrative Services
Al Cooper Director, Business & Management Systems Business & Management Systems
Ryan Spoon Director of Information Technology Engineering
Karen Herrington Director of IMS Identity Managment Services
Sandy Power System Administrator Hokie Passport Office
Camille Jones Student representative fall 2016  
Tommy Regan Sr. IT Director Athletic Department
Jim Dickhans IT Director College of Business
Jerrad Miers Director Systems Administration and Technology Support, Univ. Development 
Joseph Goodman IT Security & Compliance Specialist Outreach Information Services
Janine Hiller Richard E. Sorensen Professor of Finance
Mark Deyoung Graduate Student representative 2016